Archive Homepage  Search  [Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index][Thread Index]

Print this message      Email this message      Go back


Possible phony PayPal email


Hi Dave!...I had gotten the same email about 2 months back from what LOOKED 
like a real PayPAl person who needed to check whethere or not it had been 
myself who had ordered some items using my PayPal account. As you said, it sure 
LOOKED like it had come from PayPal! I forwarded the email to the folks at 
PayPal and they immediately emailed me back saying that this URL WAS NOT !!!!!! 
one of theirs!!! I have since read a few articles about scammers using emails 
that will ask you about either updating your PayPal account (or any other 
Credit Card account you may have!) or saying something to the effect that 
somebody has been ordering items using your PayPal account (as they said in my 
case) and ask that you click on some part of this email and enter your PayPal 
email address and then confirm your PayPal Password!!! What happens I have been 
told , is that clicking on this URL will redirect the rest of your inputted 
information to the scammers own site and NOW THEY HAVE YOUR PayPal Password as 
well as your email login!!!! If anyone has actually thought this was PayPal 
asking for a confirmation and requestion account or password information copy 
the URL at the top of the page and forward it in an email to PayPal telling 
them about it and asking if this is REALLY PaypAl !!!......((and then, 
IMMEDIATELY CHANGE YOUR PASSWORD and maybe your email login as well!!!))   It 
almost never will be since PayPal and other credit card compnies WILL NOT ASK 
FOR YOUR INFO via an email!!! 
I don't know enough about these things to understand how exactly the scammers 
get away with all this stuff but it sure gets me mad that there is no one to go 
after these low-life individuals, and, at the very least, break their typing 
fingers!
Dan melnik


---- sosmi@xxxxxxxxxxx wrote: 

=============
I never thought to say anything at the time, but about 3wks ago, I got an 
e-mail, a very formal looking one, at that. It wanted to up-date, and check 
information, on my e-bay pay-pal account., this was for security reasons. It 
sounded good, it looked good,( had all the e-bay, and Pay- Pal logo's) however 
I have never bid on, bought anything, or sold anything on e-bay, and don't have 
a pay-pal account. I just dumped it as spam. But now ,you just have to 
wonder.Ya'll have a nice day, Dave

-------------- Original message -------------- 
From: PNigelW@xxxxxxx 
e bay needs to tighten up its security and stop refering to fraud as "spoof" I 
get 3 or 4 fradulent e mails per week pretending to be various e bay mails, all 
asking for my account details, if the mail isnt in your "My e bay" file it isnt 
from ebay.

However last weekend I posted a listing on the US e bay site, ebay.com, my 
account is through ebay.co.uk, with no reference to me e bay removed the 
listing and suspended my account.

When this happens it is very difficult to contact e bay, as you cant sign in! 

Apparently e bay thought it was an unauthorised third party listing, quite why 
as all the details were mine, I do not know and trying to find out from them 
their reasoning has been impossible.

be vigilant as there is much fraud about, it is normally quite obvious if you 
look carefully, always read and reread the description and all details before 
bidding...

apologies to anyone who doesnt think this is Imperial based.

Regards

Nigel Plant

1929 L*80 Convertible Coupe by Locke